Finance

Finance, investment and banking researchers at UQ Business School study the decisions of firms and individuals and their interrelationship with financial institutions. We have specific expertise in firm valuation, asset pricing and portfolio analysis.

Our Research

Corporate Valuation

This area focuses on:

  • the valuation of companies, including the valuation of potential targets for corporate acquisitions;
  • the evaluation of proposed new investment projects;
  • the estimation of the corporate cost of capital, identifying and evaluating appropriate asset pricing models, analysing risk and uncertainty and identifying key value drivers;
  • the impact of market stress (e.g. the Global Financial Crisis) on corporate valuation;
  • assessing a firm’s optimal capital structure.

Financial Institutions

This area focuses on risk and return analysis relevant to financial institutions and issues that lead to stable financial systems.

Specific areas of investigation include:

  • competitiveness and efficiency of banks;
  • assessment of equity and credit risk;
  • the impact of the GFC;
  • benchmarking institutional performance;
  • predicting bank performance and governance in financial institutions.

Investment and Portfolio Analysis

This area of research responds to the increasing complexity of financial markets, their securities and systems. Projects encompass evaluation and risk of managed funds and portfolios.

Research activities include:

  • dynamic portfolio allocation in conditions of global investment uncertainty;
  • hedging in portfolio management;
  • asymmetric financial risk exposure;
  • portfolio volatility;
  • sustainable investment;
  • the impact of market stress on investment decision making;
  • assessing the impact of market sentiment.

Managerial Incentives and Corporate Governance

This area of research focuses mainly on issues related to improving corporate governance of firms.

Specific areas of research interest include but are not limited to:

  • determinants and consequence of board structure, ownership structure and executive remuneration on various firms’ specific outcomes such as performance, investment and financing decisions;
  • different board committee activities;
  • corporate litigations;
  • succession planning;
  • auditors’ independence;
  • post-GFC governance reforms;
  • shareholder activism.

 

Contact Us for Research Collaborations

Engagement

Engage with UQ Business School

Our research provides vital, high-level advice to large firms in the areas of risk management, investment decisions, superannuation funding, share trading portfolio management and the financial factors influencing firm performance.

 

Find out more about engaging in research with UQ Business School 

 

Our Programs

Undergraduate Postgraduate

The Finance discipline teaches into three of our undergraduate programs. Students build core knowledge of valuation, risk management, corporate finance and banking with practical applications.

Bachelor of Advanced Finance and Economics (Honours)

This interdisciplinary program develops graduates analytical rigour needed for for a high-powered career in finance and economics, whether in Australia or beyond.

Bachelor of Commerce

The Bachelor of Commerce combines core business and analytical skills with specialist knowledge, ensuring graduates can effectively adapt to the ever-changing global business environment.

Bachelor of Advanced Business (Honours)

Become a critical and reflective thinker capable of identifying, analysing and developing solutions for the complex challenges facing business in the 21st century.

Our postgraduate Finance specialisations combine the theoretical frameworks for successful financial management with practical skills in analysis and risk assessment.

Master of Commerce

Be a critical thinker to solve real business problems and make confident decisions throughout your career. This program will challenge you to push your limits and refine your skills to boost your career outcomes.

Master of Business

Enhance your skill set needed to advance your career. This program will equip you with the knowledge and expertise to tackle the today’s business challenges through your choice of specialisation.

Higher Degree by Research

Are you looking to pursue a career in academia or in specialist consultancy? Push forward the boundaries of knowledge in your chosen field and work alongside the world's best researchers.

 

Academic Experts

Adriano Arantes

Adriano Arantes

Casual RA (C. Zhou)

Albert Chun

Albert Chun

Senior Lecturer

+61 7 3346 0013

A.Chun@business.uq.edu.au

Alex Cameron

Alex Cameron

Associate Lecturer

Allan Hodgson

Allan Hodgson

Professor in Accounting and Finance

Barry Oliver

Barry Oliver

Associate Professor in Finance | Finance Discipline Leader

Clara Zhou

Clara Zhou

Lecturer in Finance

+ 61 7 3346 8106

q.zhou@business.uq.edu.au

Clayton Thompson

Clayton Thompson

Casual Lecturer (2016 Semester 2) | Tutor (2017 Semester 1 & 2)

Clive Gaunt

Clive Gaunt

Senior Lecturer in Finance

Damien Cannavan

Damien Cannavan

Lecturer in Finance

David Corby

David Corby

Casual Lecturer 2017 (Semester 1,2)

David Hunter

David Hunter

Senior Lecturer

Dewan Mostafizur Rahman

Dewan Mostafizur Rahman

HDR Student - PhD | Casual Lecturer (2017 Semester 1)

Elizabeth Zhu

Elizabeth Zhu

Senior Lecturer

+61 7 3346 8001

e.zhu@business.uq.edu.au

Frances Fu

Frances Fu

Associate Lecturer (Sem 2 2017) | Finance Tutor (2017 Semester 1)

+61 7 3346 8072

q.fu@business.uq.edu.au

Gloria Cheng

Gloria Cheng

Tutor 2017 Semester 1 & 2) | Casual Research Assistant

+61 7 3346 8100

n.cheng@uq.edu.au

Graham Du Plessis

Graham Du Plessis

Lecturer Finance.

Hasibul Chowdhury

Hasibul Chowdhury

PhD Student |Tutor (2017 Semester 1 & 2) | Casual Research Assistant

Hossein Rad

Hossein Rad

HDR Student - PhD | Tutor 2017 Semester 2) | Casual Research Assistant

+61 7 3346 8100

h.rad@business.uq.edu.au

Jacquelyn Humphrey

Jacquelyn Humphrey

Associate Professor in Finance

Jennifer Sun

Jennifer Sun

HDR Student - PhD | Associate Lecturer

+ 61 7 3346 8123

z.sun@business.uq.edu.au

Jenny Wang

Jenny Wang

HDR Student - PhD | Tutor (2017 Semester 2) | Casual Research Assistant

+61 7 3346 8100

q.wang@business.uq.edu.au

Jerry Chang

Jerry Chang

Associate Lecturer

Jianlei Han

Jianlei Han

Casual Research Assistant | Tutor (2017 Semester 1 & 2)

+61 7 3346 8100

j.han@business.uq.edu.au

Julie McIvor

Julie McIvor

HDR Student - PhD Finance | Associate Lecturer in Finance

Kam Fong Chan

Kam Fong Chan

Senior Lecturer in Finance

+61 7 334 68024

k.chan@business.uq.edu.au

Karen Alpert

Karen Alpert

Lecturer in Finance

Karen Benson

Karen Benson

Professor of Finance | Deputy Head of School (Acting) | Director, Accreditation

Karen McPherson

Karen McPherson

Casual Research Assistant

Kelvin Tan

Kelvin Tan

Senior Lecturer in Finance

+61 7 3346 8051

k.tan@business.uq.edu.au

Khoa Hoang

Khoa Hoang

Lecturer in Finance

Lei Zhang

Lei Zhang

Associate Professor

Lin Mi

Lin Mi

Lecturer in Finance

+61 7 3346 8038

l.mi@business.uq.edu.au

Ling (Zhengling) Xiong

Ling (Zhengling) Xiong

HDR Student - PhD

+61 7 3346 9315

z.xiong1@uq.edu.au

Maggie Liu

Maggie Liu

HDR Student - PhD | Casual Research Assistant

+61 7 3365 4855

m.liu@business.uq.edu.au

Mamiza Haq

Mamiza Haq

Lecturer in Finance

+61 7 3346 3090

m.haq@business.uq.edu.au

Mark Tanner

Mark Tanner

Sessional Lecturer & Tutor 2017 (Semester 1 & 2)

Minh Pham

Minh Pham

Associate Lecturer

+61 7 3346 8014

m.pham@business.uq.edu.au

Necmi Avkiran

Necmi Avkiran

Associate Professor in Banking and Finance

Pei-jia Lum

Pei-jia Lum

Casual Research Assistant | PhD Student | Tutor 2017 (Semester 1 & 2 )

+61 7 3346 8100

p.lum@business.uq.edu.au

Rand Low

Rand Low

Honorary Fellow

+61 7 3346 8100

r.low@business.uq.edu.au

Resmiye Avkiran

Resmiye Avkiran

Research Assistant

Robert Faff

Robert Faff

Professor in Finance | Director of Research

+61 7 3346 8055

r.faff@business.uq.edu.au

Robert Guerrero

Robert Guerrero

HDR Student | Lecturer in Finance

Robert Wall

Robert Wall

Casual RA (Clara Zhou)

+61 7 3346 8100

r.wall@business.uq.edu.au

Roxana Isabel Pincheira

Roxana Isabel Pincheira

HDR Student - PhD | Casual Research Assistant

Samual MacDonald

Samual MacDonald

Casual RA (C. Zhou)

Saphira Rekker

Saphira Rekker

HDR Student - PhD | Tutor (2017 Semester 1 & 2) | Casual Research Assistant

Scott McCarthy

Scott McCarthy

Senior Lecturer in Finance

Searat Ali

Searat Ali

Casual Research Assistant | Tutor 2017 (Semester 2)

+61 7 3346 8100

s.ali@business.uq.edu.au

Shams Pathan

Shams Pathan

Senior Lecturer | Master of Commerce Program Leader

Shunji Mei

Shunji Mei

Tutor (2017 Semester 1 & 2) | Casual Research Assistant

+61 7 3346 8100

s.mei@business.uq.edu.au

Sihan Wang

Sihan Wang

Research Assistant - Finance

+61 7 3346 8100

s.wang@business.uq.edu.au

Sizhe Song

Sizhe Song

HDR Student - PhD | Casual Research Assistant

+61 7 3346 8100

s.song@business.uq.edu.au

Steve Gray

Steve Gray

Professor in Finance

+61 7 3346 8032

S.Gray@business.uq.edu.au

Terry Pan

Terry Pan

HDR Student - PhD | Tutor (2017 Semester 1) | Casual Research Assistant

+61 7 3346 8100

z.pan@business.uq.edu.au

Timothy Pullen

Timothy Pullen

HDR Student - PhD | Tutor (2017 Semester 1 & 2) | Casual Research Assistant

Trang Nguyen

Trang Nguyen

HDR Student - PhD

Vanitha Ragunathan

Vanitha Ragunathan

Senior Lecturer in Finance

Vinson Tran

Vinson Tran

Casual RA (Clara Zhou)

+61 7 3346 8100

v.tran@business.uq.edu.au

Yong Li

Yong Li

Postdoctoral Researcher

+61 7 3346 0759

y.li@business.uq.edu.au

Related Content

Cant find what you are looking for? Search this site.